If you're seriously concerned about privacy
or you work with a lot of confidential files on your Mac, you might want to
consider using FileVault. FileVault encrypts your entire hard drive, allowing
file access only to users with the right password or access key. An access key
is generated when you set up FileVault.
To turn on FileVault, return to the Privacy
& Security preferences window. Click the FileVault tab and then click the
button to Turn On FileVault. (If it's grayed out, unlock the option by clicking
on the lock icon in the bottom left of the preferences window.) Be very careful
about using FileVault. As the warning clearly states, if you lose your password
or the access key, your drive will be inaccessible.
Use FileVault to encrypt your entire
drive. Don't forget your password.
Securely Delete Files From Your Trash
Emptying your trash doesn't actually remove
the files from your system; It just marks them as deleted so another file can
overwrite the space. It might be a long time before the system overwrites that
file, so, in theory, someone could undelete the file.
If you want to make sure the file you
delete is wiped from your Mac, you'll want to securely empty your trash bin.
It's pretty easy. Click your trash bin. This changes the focus of your main
menu bar to Finder.
Password Assistant helps you create